• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Some Advice on Bows

So been shooting for a while, but im just taking up hunting and a total newb to archery. I just bought a used bow and wanted to get it adjusted for me. Is it possible to adjust a bow yourself or is pro service required? Im guessing a pro would be best, anyone recommend someplace in the taunton to fall river area, and what does this service cost?

Thanks

Check out the manual. Some bows require the use of a bow press to adjust the draw length, some don't. Adjusting the draw weight should not be a problem. You'll likely want to use a bow square to set the nock position. If you do adjust the draw weight yourself, I suggest using quality tools. But being that it's a used bow, I'd have a shop set it up for you the first time around.

Sent from my XT897 using Tapatalk

Last edited:
Check out the manual. Some bows require the use of a bow press to adjust the draw length, some don't. Adjusting the draw weight should not be a problem. You'll likely want to use a bow square to set the nock position. If you do adjust the draw weight yourself, I suggest using quality tools. But being that it's a used bow, I'd have a shop set it up for you the first time around.

Sent from my XT897 using Tapatalk

thanks, what do you thinks a fair price for them to give it a once over

Take it to a pro shop. You can google Archery shops, in your area. It will be money well spent , especially to get correct draw length, poundage set for you, and check string and cables, especially if it is a compound bow. Good Luck, please post whom does your tune up, another suggestion is to inquire about proper length arrows and weights for them.

The shops I know, while good with their product, tend to push their new product more than help with others', especially used. Your mileage may vary.