• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Solar Power Systems

I have been interested in a closed solar power system in my home, but would also like to take advantage of the savings of being on the grid too. In other words I want the ability to close the loop and get off the grid in case of an emergency or disaster, but stay on the grid and get energy savings from a meter that runs backwards. I am a contractor but I sub out all of my electrical, so I have a basic idea of electric systems and I know a manual switch over can be done. Both systems have their advantages and disadvantages so a hybrid system would work best in my opinion. The off the grid system requires deep cycle batteries and depending on the size of you panels and the time of year (and location) it could cause gaps in your available power. An on the grid system doesn't need batteries and utilizes all of the power converted in the form of electricity for your home, or if no power is needed, it cycles it out onto the grid giving you savings on your electric bill, or in some cases $$$$ from the power company if your bill is negative.

Any folks here have experience with either of these systems? I have only read about them and don't know how much maintenance they require, or how efficient they are (especially here in New England). I was reading about a new power cell that works well in all weather, and times of year but is not as effective overall as the others that work the best in the direct sun. Maybe it would be wise to have some of both. I think the dropping prices in solar power, and the increase in efficency make it a good investment if you have the money. It could prove to be invaluable someday.