Snub nose Marksmanship

Dave6

Banned
I have a 2 inch snub nose revolver and I have been using it at a 10-15 yard shooting course and I have been doing pretty good with it hitting target.
I just tried it at a 50 yard line and had more of a struggle. Still made it on target 30 -40 percent of the time but had more of a struggle. It was a windy day on top of it.
Should I expect the same performance from a snub nose as I would from a 4- 6 inch barrel?

Jerry can do it.

Last edited by a moderator:
Jerry can do it.

Alright how about this. How far away can I fire a snub nose and reasonably be on target. And I am of course no Olympic level marksman like Jerry. This man in his life time has fired millions of rounds at the range. It would take me two or three life times to be like him of course. I can handle 15 yards and I am starting to get a handle on 50 yards. just wondering how far i can take it and should I expect to struggle at a 50 plus yard line or is it becaue i am a newbie

Last edited by a moderator:
Only you can determine the distance you can maintain accuracy at, but my hat's off to you beyond 75 yards with a snubbie. That's where I can't even hit the paper.
The roscoe you chose will have much do do with it as will the ammo, your eyesight, wind...

It can be done. I think you can do it.

Best,
~Matt

It's not designed for "long distance", just like a target gun is not designed for CC.

the only answer is: are you happy with its performance? If it's a personal protection gun, do you think that you'll be engaging targets at 50 yards? 25 yards? 7 yards? Up close and personal? That's were you need to have acceptable (for you) accuracy.

MY bet is your going to smell the bad guys rancid breath when you Belly Bust him with that .38..forget about beyond ten yards..I have a S&W 442 I carry in my coat pocket and have shot in a IDPA side match with it , hitting anything smaller than a 8 "pie plate at 25 yds. is hit and miss.