Smoking a brisket and a pork butt tomorrow

djbradles

NES Member
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
I’ve never done such a costly and long cook before. Done tons of research from the likes of Aaron Franklin, Cooking with Ry, T-roy Cook’s, BBQ Pit boys, you name it.

Tomorrow morning I’m starting the cook with my Weber 22” kettle with a offset slow burn for upwards of 9+ hours at 275F. I’ll be doing the water pan, wrap, spritzing, rest, etc.

Any victories and failures from the NES brain trust for posterity purposes?

Rating - 100%
48   0   0
Keep constant temps - beware of the breeze, it will rob heat. Invest in a Party-Q controller. Pay attention to internal temps and take temps at several locations - pull at appropriate temps.

Brisket - 203* is the temp
Butt is another thing but pull at appropriate temp and both need rest. Any cooler will do.

Are you doing a full packer brisket? Because it will be ready on Sunday given your start time.
Skip the spritz - if you're looking you ain't cookin' - wasted heat opening and closing.

Good luck - keep us posted

Hustler One

NES Member
Rating - 100%
3   0   0
With a kettle I prefer the snake method burn. I use a "moisture' pan as well but filled with a mix of water and AC vinegar. Put the soaked wood chunks on top of the grate instead of laying directly on the charcoal if you do that. Sometimes I mop the meat, sometimes I don't. Most importantly, keep an eye on the temp. I think 275F is a little high for brisket - I do 225-250F. Brisket is one of the hardest cuts of beef to get right. I've probably smoked a couple dozen briskets now in my amateur bbq adventures and only "killed" one and that was by not paying attention to the temp. Good luck.

djbradles

NES Member
Rating - 100%
1   0   0