• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Smokers/campers do you have your mass. lighter permit yet?

I'm not a lawyer but this sure reads to me like us peasants need a permit to operate a lighter, unreal.

10398687_838030722919705_8132617979851229195_n.jpg

Open flame device? Where's the definition of that?

So I need a permit to use my property (torches) on my property?

Ahh, no thanks.

Yeah, purely by the numbers, candles burn down more houses than anything on that list, so they must be "liable to start a fire"

Maybe my cousins' husband, a city firefighter, can finally convince his wife (my cousin) to stop burning candles in the house... He almost had her convinced the day his engine company had to go and put out his living room (evidently, other firefighters will never let a brother live THAT one down!)

That said, "statists gotta state." [angry]

Am I correct in thinking insurance companies are going to use this to deny coverage if your house burns down? I'm not familiar with the ins and outs of homeowners insurance, so maybe some clause covering this already exists.

If I was half the man I was five years ago I'd take a flame thrower to this place....!!!!
Oh wait...I don't have my permit. [thinking]

Didn't this come about when those Boston firefighters died putting down that Back Bay fire last year that was caused by welders working without a permit in gale winds?

Good thing I bought that box of matches this weekend. Wonder how much pre-ban matches go for now ... Do I have to sell them as loosies on the black market?