• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Slide ruler

I picked up a slide ruler today in case the spaghetti hits the fan with an EMP or CMP and calculators don’t work. Still learning how to use it, but it is an interesting tool. To think we flew to the moon with equipment designed using a slide ruler.
My Dad worked on a project for the X-15 and used a slide rule for the calculations. The SR-71 was also designed and built with slide rules.

hqdefault.jpg

I have a few, never learned how to use them.

I’m a mechanical engineer, so I should. But then again… after all these years I’m not excited about it anymore…

I count myself lucky that I am of age that fell between a lots of technology in school. Calculators were available but they were not cheap. Teachers were constantly feuding over whether students should be allowed to use them. I was thinking even back then there would be few situations future generations wouldn't have access to computing of some kind (yes, learn + - * / and fractions...beyond that meh), that calculators would be smaller and cheaper so that almost anyone could have one.

So there was a course in 7th grade on how to use a slide rule I took. It's pretty cool concept. Was years before I learned the math behind how they work and then thought about the geniuses that came up with these things. People sometimes say we're "smarter" now than we were say 100 years ago. To that I reply that we have better technology but we're not "smarter"....then refer them to the obviously low-intelligence builders in Egypt.

Last edited:
I picked up a slide ruler today in case the spaghetti hits the fan with an EMP or CMP and calculators don’t work. Still learning how to use it, but it is an interesting tool. To think we flew to the moon with equipment designed using a slide ruler.
Don't forget a Butlerian Jihad.