• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Single Stage Press

WickedSharp

NES Member
Hello everyone,
I am brand new to the idea of reloading. I've read a lot and am inclined to think that I actually CAN get by with a simple single stage press instead of a progressive.
I only have one caliber to reload for.... 41 magnum.

I will be working with one or two of the guys at my club before I actually reload myself. But while I am doing this, I wanted to start building a shopping list. So, if I were going to setup shop for a single stage, one caliber (pistol), low volume system, what would I need at a minimum on top of the press? I don't want the cheapest. Lets say middle of the road. Makes and models would be awesome!

Single Stage Press
3 die set (41 magnum)
etc..
etc..
etc..

You would need something to clean your brass
You would need a powder dispenser
You would need a scale
You would need calipers
You WILL need a bullet puller
You would need loading blocks (2)
You would need a hand priming device...

There is also some free Reloading Classes up at the kittery trading post 2x a month.
I did a review on them if you do a search- it was very helpful to me.

If you need 41 cast, PM me I know a guy that's going to start a large run of them in 2 weeks. I've been waiting for him to do them since March.

I have a RCBS RockChucker kit that was a great starting system for me. I'd recommend it. I do higher volumes of a few cartridges now so I use a progressive more these days.

+1 on the RCBS RockChucker Kit. Might want to add a digital scale to it instead of the scale that it comes with to speed things along a bit. Add a tumbler and media, and you should be good to go. Started with .357 dies myself and then it just took off from there. The single stage is much slower than a progressive, takes me about an hour and a half for me to make 100 rounds.

Thunderbolt