• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Sig Academy - Choosing a first course

Was looking to do a day course at the Sig Academy. They have a ton of course listed on their site. Ive had no 'real' formal training, however I'm very comfortable with and moderately capable with my carry pistols. I have been shooting for many years and have done a lot of research. Does anyone recommend where to start with sig? I feel the Handguns 101 is far to basic. Also on their website it says not to bring micro pistols to the class.....I usually carry a Sig 938. Does anyone have any experience with their courses that would shed some light on what to expect?

Thank you, I assumed that was the reason, and I have been looking for a mid sized carry pistol as of late. I own a G42 and a Sig938 for carry, both have the same capacity limitations and both are the same size. So I'm sure ill sell one, and find another 10+ capacity carry firearm before attending.

They also will loan you a pistol for the class. (A Sig, of course) You dont need to wait until you have a larger pistol to take a class there if you dont want to. Holsters and mag holsters are provided as well upon request. If the class is indoors, you need to use frangible ammo provided by Sig.

I took handgun 102 as a first pistol class. As long as youre comfortable drawing from a holster and practice basic safety, I would say 102 would be a good starter class for someone that has a bit of experience under their belt.

Class was dry fire exercises, draw and fire, mag changes, ball and dummy, longer range shooting (longer than typical pistol distance anyway)