• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Shotgun Love

So, I'm still relatively new to all of this(coming up on a year and need to renew my green) and maybe I'm one of those "Millenials" (I identify as Gen Y) Blindfire is now having to manage and coddle but, I just finished my first box of 3" magnum slugs. *Takes a bow and applies ice*

I bought my first shotgun back in May of this year and have put approximately 500 rounds through it including 15, 3" magnum slugs that took 3 range trips to use up. Now, contrary to Mr. Blindfires current managerial direction and possible belief that people of a certain age need extra praise for having completed a remedial task, these slugs are down right painful! I can understand hunting with them, but even sighting in a slug gun with these can't be much fun at all. "Stout" doesn't fully describe the recoil, IMHO. This is also the first trip out that I have minimal bruising(I'm not shooting target loads. Buck, foster slugs, and high-brass #4 bird) Perhaps I've learned proper form, or perhaps I've just grown thicker skin. I'm leaning towards the latter.

All of that said, I think I love shotguns! Their unabashed power, ridiculous number of different projectiles, ease of use, and durability have really captured my heart. Inside of 100 yards, what problem can a shotgun not solve? Shhh.... don't answer that.

What do you shoot out of your shottie most often at the range? I'm not currently into trap or skeeeet.
Any fun loads I should try?

For me it really depends on what shotgun I'm using and what I'm doing with it. My Browning Citori is my clay gun and as such it shoot bird shot out of it. Typically 7.5 or 8 shot. My Benelli M4 or Mossberg 590a1 generally get a mix of shot from slugs to bird shot. I'm attending a shotgun class this weekend with my Benelli and Mossberg. Both will see slugs, buck shot and bird shot.