• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Shotgun ammo - Is there really any difference between brands

Rockrivr1

NES Member
When shooting trap I basically use whatever ammo I found a deal on. Lately is been cheap Wallymart Winchester in bulk box. I've also used Federal, Estate, etc and I just don't see the difference. Then again, I'm just a rank amateur still looking for his perfect 25. Have been close with a 24, but the miss was totally on me and not the ammo.

So the question is, if the velocity and shot size is the same, is there really any difference between brands? If so, what is it?

Consistancy is the answer.

That elusive 25 can be due to shooting one brand that was a little faster or slower than the last box.

Leads need to be the same day yo day for (multiple) perfect rounds.

50FPS difference per ammo will teach you different leads when you miss by a bit.

Consistancy is the answer.

That elusive 25 can be due to shooting one brand that was a little faster or slower than the last box.

Leads need to be the same day yo day for (multiple) perfect rounds.

50FPS difference per ammo will teach you different leads when you miss by a bit.
run some target ammo over a crony and tell me what you see......

I’m in the same boat as you Rockrivr.... I shoot whatever brand shells I can find on-sale

They all prove the same thing... I suck.

But for shooting clays, I mostly just there to have fun and get a little better for bird season.
I do pattern the loads I use for bird hunting though and stick to the same shell.

When shooting trap I basically use whatever ammo I found a deal on. Lately is been cheap Wallymart Winchester in bulk box. I've also used Federal, Estate, etc and I just don't see the difference. Then again, I'm just a rank amateur still looking for his perfect 25. Have been close with a 24, but the miss was totally on me and not the ammo.