• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

shooting on private property in NH

headednorth

NES Member
Ive been toying with the idea of buying a home on a good size plot of land in NH. Ideally, I'd like a place where I can legally shoot on the property without causing any havoc with the neighbors and local pd. I know there's laws regarding proximity to a road and adjacent homes. Also , from what I understand, firearms in general are less tolerated the closer to MA you get. ( Im a lifelong MA resident, unfortunately)

I was hoping to get some input from some NH'ers, or anyone who is familiar with the lay of the land up there, as to where something like Im planning would be possible/tolerated. I would like something closer to MA, if possible. I have a friend in the Derry area, which is too urban but maybe not so in the surrounding area. Or is that still too far south?

My dream is to be able to go out on my back deck and shoot whenever the mood hits. ( anyone know Hickock45 on youtube? Best backyard ever...)

So is what Im looking for realistic or am I just dreaming? I think Im kind of brain damaged as far as guns go from living in MA my whole life, so its hard to even gauge whether Im being realistic or not. Anyone have any recommendations or thoughts they could share?

I doubt there is a piece of affordable land in Derry where you would have the minimum distances and not have to worry about where a stray round went

more than 300ft from a residence unless you have permission, more than 15ft from a road, more than 1000ft from a school/federal property unless on privately owned property you have permission to be on (if it's your land you would have permission).