• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Shooters Outpost in Hooksett NH Unwilling to Sell Muzzle Device to MA Resident

Status
Not open for further replies.
So I just called Shooters Outpost in NH to ask about purchasing a muzzle break to finish my new MA Compliant upper. Travis from their "AR Department" said they couldn't sell me a "loose muzzle device", i.e. otherwise MA compliant (we're not talking about a flash hider, but something generally agreed to as MA OK) bc it wasn't pinned and welded on an upper as it left their store.

When I asked how he'd know I was a resident of MA he said "we check all licenses for all purchases". This sounds like a bizarre set of interpretations of the law (that it would be "constructive intent", which frankly, if it were even a germane concept in this scenario, is my problem, not theirs) and practice--I've never been to a store that looks at my license for a cash purchase of an unregulated gun part. Anyone else run into this (here or elsewhere)?

Travis said "I'll check with my Compliance guy and call you back" (which regardless of what the call back yields, if it comes, I'm thinking twice about giving my patronage to anyone with such a bizarre set of practices (we look at your license when buying unregulated gun parts? What?!).

Am I off here, or is this flat out asinine? I mean I've been in several stores in MA (over the years) that sell them (off the gun), and nobody's closed them down. They just happened to have some variety and I was hoping to go for a nice drive today. It sounds to me like they don't need or want my business is the bottom line.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Found another dealer who just lost my business.

They're out of their ****ing minds unless Maura issued them special guidance.