• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Seed Banks. Who stores seeds?

enbloc

Life Member Emeritus
NES Life Member
NES Member
I have been storing seeds for 16 years, and use them by FIFO rotation.
Anyone else "Bank" seeds? Nature's "PM's?"
Precious Materials...

Types of Seeds Preppers May Want to Stockpile - AllOutdoor.com

Now's the right time of the year to "squirrel" away seeds while the variety and availability are at their best.
I treat seeds like ammo. Shoot a box, buy two to replace it...

No need. Whole Foods and Trader Joe’s have lots of “ancient grains” now. Just show up after SHTF and go shopping. You’ll be among armed friends.

Buy two, plant one is a great strategy. They’re so cheap and so small there’s no reason not to have a shoebox full stored away.

Knowing how to save seed from one year to the next is a great skill to have. Every generation you select the best of the best to produce seed your veggies become better adapted to your personal garden space. And it’s fun.
Ive save seed for hundreds of different varieties of veggies over the years. I have pea seed that I’ve been saving every year for 23 years. No one in the world but me grow these.
It’s also important to know your wild edibles. In a shtf scenario you may not have a secure place to grow anything.

I am just starting down this path. I have tried for several years to grow from seed. My track record is abysmal and I end up buying plants from a local nursery. This year I was somewhat successful (50% survival rate) and I plan to save some of the seeds. It is a very interesting hobby and a healthy lifestyle from many perspectives. Previously I was buying seed packets from the hardware store. This year I ordered heirloom seeds so that I can learn to save and replant.

Thanks for the thread.