Scope for AR-15

Hi,
I'm a newbie to this group as well as shooting and I need some advice. I recently purchased a Bushmaster AR-15 with removable handle. Since I'm a bit older my eyes aren't what they used to be so I decided on a scope. The gun will be used 100% of the time for target shooting at 50 to 200 yards. Perhaps longer distances if I get good. The question is what scope and mounts do I need. At the local store we tried the red dot system, but it didn't work since the front sight is too high. I want to spend in the $300 range unless convinced to spend more/less.

I saw a Leupold Mark AR 3X9 in the catalog and it seems like a good fit. Is this over kill? Do I need the BDC feature or a scope specifically designed for an AR?

Thanks for your help and I look forward to participating on this board.

I would go for the Mark AR 1.5-4x20. Since most of your shooting will be inside 200-yards, it seems to be a good fit for closer ranges. I just bought the Leupold MR/T 1.5-5 and it's a stunningly nice piece of glass... The LaRue SPR is next on my radar, but the Burris PEPR is a nice affordable mount to get you going....I have my MR/T in the PERR now and it's really nice...

Welcome to NES...[cheers]

Do you want to shoot groups or are just hitting steel at distance?
Massmarks suggestion is good if you are not trying for groups. I would also suggest a Burris XTR 1-4

If you want to shoot groups, I would go with something with more power like a 10 or 20x Super sniper, good glass for the money

Do you want to shoot groups or are just hitting steel at distance?
Massmarks suggestion is good if you are not trying for groups. I would also suggest a Burris XTR 1-4

If you want to shoot groups, I would go with something with more power like a 10 or 20x Super sniper, good glass for the money

The Burris is a nice ride as well....

Thanks for the tips. Why a 1.5-4X20 instead of a 3-9X40? Also, if I do go longer, 300yds, will that work as well?