Scope crosshairs don't remain vertial

I just bought my first scope for my 10/22 yesterday. It is a BSA 3-9x40 at BassPro in Foxborough. They mounted and bore sighted it for free.

http://www.bsaoptics.com/scope.aspx?product=77

So I bring it to the range today, setup and start trying to sight it in at 50 yrds. I adjust for elevation and windage, as I've read and seen on various youtube videos, and things start to look pretty good. I'm getting nice grouping very close to center target.

However, after about 25 rounds I notice the crosshairs are not vertical any more. After another 10 shots the crosshairs are now totally diagonal in my scope. The scope housing itself does not appear to have moved at all. Shots still appear to hit close to center target and it looks to me that the crosshairs are literally spinning fractionally counter-clockwise with each recoil.

I'm fairly new to scopes but even I can tell something is totally F***ed up here. I plan on returning this scope tomorrow assuming it is defective. Has anyone seen or heard of this before?

I'm going to swear off of cheap scopes one of these days...

I have actually had exceptionally good experience with the Tasco World Class 3-9x40, the first scope I bought. It is sharp and bright, all the way across the field of view, and I've shot thousands of rounds of .223 with it.

That was the exception though all of the other cheap scopes I have bought have either looked distorted at the edges, been too narrow a field of view,looked dim or yellowed, or have broken after firing a small number of shots. Stay away from NCStar.