• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Sample letters that worked

jasons

NES Life Member
NES Member
It seems that new people applying for or renewing their MA LTC often ask for sample "letters to the chief" to help get them started. I thought that maybe a "sample letters that worked" thread might be a good idea.

To start, here's a sample based on the letter that I used and that worked for me. I am not a lawyer and this is not legal advice. Void where prohibited. Your mileage may vary. [rolleyes]

Dear Chief CHIEFNAME,

I am requesting an unrestricted class A license to carry because I have good reason to fear injury to my person or property as per Chapter 140, Section 131 of the General Laws of Massachusetts. My reasons include [list some reasons here, for example working late nights in bad areas, carrying lots of cash for deposits or whatever, examples of recent crimes in your area, etc.]

Before moving to YOURTOWN I [list any experience you had before you moved to YOURTOWN. For me it was easy because I was a Marine for 5 years and fired everything from 9mm to anti-aircraft missiles. For you it might be hunting trips, training in the Scouts, whatever.]

Since moving to YOURTOWN in DATE [talk about community involvement. Try to show how you have "roots" in the town and care about the community. Volunteer work, any kids in school, etc. Mention that you've never gotten into any trouble and have always obeyed and respected the law and the police officers in your town. Basically try to show why you won't be a flake that might embarrass the chief.]