• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

S&W 340PD - was it a mistake?

s4mt3k

NES Member
Hey guys, not much content to my post, just bored at night and looking for thoughts, opinions, advice...

I'm fairly new to gun ownership so bear with me. Ever since I picked up a S&W340PD I was amazed at how light it was, the look, shrouded hammer.... I never thought of myself as a revolver kind of person but this, I fell in love with. I couldn't bring myself to spend 900+ on a new one though. Found a "like new" one and got a good deal on it through an auction on gunbroker.

I haven't actually received it yet but reading some "range reports" and opinions, sounds like I'm going to absolutely hate shooting .357 out of it.

I kinda don't care considering that I plan on carrying it and not really shooting hundreds of rounds through it at the range, but nonetheless, I'm thinking maybe I should have researched it more...

One suggestion I read somewhere was to load it with 3 rounds of .38 and the last 2 rounds of .357 (when carrying)...

You'll just have to try it and find out. It is a gun I would put at "dead last" for anyone that was new to shooting. The learning curve to shoot snubs accurately is also relatively steep, but it's not impossible. You might have a lot of fun with that thing, who knows. Lots of DRY FIRING will help immensely with your skills. Double check to make sure its unloaded, and when you
see certain annoying people come on television, try to focus on them and dry fire without disturbing your sight picture. Even 10-20 mins of practice a day or even ever few days will improve your skills.

I wouldn't do the stupid round staggering thing- that's just mall ninja crap. Just get Speer .357 mag short barrel. It is not quite as potent as full house .357 mag but it is still way better than .38 +P in power.

-Mike