• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Ruger Mark IV’s, do I want one? Which one?

I’m in the market for a new .22 semi auto. I have not fired anything newer than 40 years old since I started shooting Dad’s High Standard whilst standing on a chair so I could shoot a gallery match with him.

What has been your experience with the new Mark IV’s, and which model?

I’m also interested in a good reflex sight for it. I have not fired a pistol with anything but iron sights on it my entire life. I could use a recommendation that won’t break the bank.

I owned a number of MKIII pistols over the years, upgrading each one over time with better triggers, etc. Eventually broke down and just bought a Volquartsen Scorpion.

It's based on the Ruger MKIII design. I was already familiar with the takedown process of the MKIII. Volquartsen also has pistols based on the MKIV; the Black Mamba and Mamba-TF.

I would definitely buy a VQ again. Take a look at their stuff. Volquartsen Firearms Official Site

I owned a number of MKIII pistols over the years, upgrading each one over time with better triggers, etc. Eventually broke down and just bought a Volquartsen Scorpion.

It's based on the Ruger MKIII design. I was already familiar with the takedown process of the MKIII. Volquartsen also has pistols based on the MKIV; the Black Mamba and Mamba-TF.

I would definitely buy a VQ again. Take a look at their stuff. Volquartsen Firearms Official Site
I love my mark iii.