• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Ruger AR556 mass compliant

Hey All,

I have a question regarding the literature for the Massachusetts AWB, as I am new to the LTC scene.

From what I interpret, a rifle is considered an “assault weapon” if it has the following...

1) detachable magazine

2) at least two of the following:
A. Adjustable stock
B. Pistol grip
C. Silencer or threaded barrel to accept a silencer
D. Bayonet
E. Grenade launcher

So my question is.. will a Ruger AR556 model 8502 be considered an assault weapon in mass?

From what I gathered on the specs

It does have a detachable magazine (10rounds to be mass compliant)

The stock is fixed

It does have a pistol grip

It does not have silencer, threaded barrel, bayonet, or a grenade launcher.

Here’s a link to view the specs:
Ruger® AR-556® Standard Autoloading Rifle Model 8502

Thanks in advance for the help

It is not an assault weapon.

But it will be considered one.

Welcome to Mass.

I consider this an Assault Weapon:

iu

An Assault on my wallet...

If you go to the link you provided, that stock certainly looks adjustable (therefore, it would need to be pinned) although the text says that it is fixed.

Some manufacturers do make stocks in a4 style fixed from the getgo.

But now, it is considered a copycat of an AW by Maura healeys enforcement... So it's a no go on that front.

Im fairly certain healey claims mini14s are exempt do to her devine power but not based on any actual law..mini14s are commonly available in MA.
My gut says if you can find a dealer to transfer it, its legal enough that you won't be convicted. While we all try to avoid the system and its process if you find yourself debating the legality of something legally purchased you most likely have bigger problems.Then factor in gun charges are almost always dropped.