2012 Rhode Island General Laws
Title 11 - Criminal Offenses
Chapter 11-47 - Weapons
Chapter 11-47-57 - "Mace" or similar substances.
Universal Citation: RI Gen L § 11-47-57 (2012)
§ 11-47-57 "Mace" or similar substances. – Any person eighteen (18) years of age or over may carry on his or her person and use, unless otherwise prohibited by law, any non-lethal noxious substance or liquid for his or her protection or the protection of others; however, the use of any non-lethal noxious substance or liquid for any other purpose shall be punishable by a fine of not more than twenty-five dollars ($25.00).
Back from RI.
Went to see a show, they let my wife right through, but the frisked me.
I was quite surprised the woman frisking me "found" my mace, she said "oh wait, what's this??"
Without any hesitation I said "inhaler"
She let me go on through. For a second I thought I was out $15 and would have to be scolded by the [Me, myself, Irene voice]Rhode Island State Police[/MMIV].
I wonder if they found it what consequences if any? Probably just confiscate it and that's it?