• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Resident LTC-Unrestricted with Out-of-State Pistol for Carry with Pre-Ban Mags

Hello all,

I got my unrestricted LTC before moving out of state. I changed my domicile (not technically my residence since MA doesn't define this) to my new address and my permit, statutorily and through the Gun Portal, is still valid. I am here visiting for two weeks and brought with me a pistol that is registered out-of-state that I wish to carry with in-state pre-ban magazines. My question is: can I CCW this pistol (bought in CA) with a pre-ban 15-round magazine (bought in MA)?

Thanks!

I'm no expert and I got lost in where your legal residence is, but it seems pretty simple. You need some kind of MA license that says you can carry, and it needs to be a "large capacity" license. If you are legally a MA resident (in MA's eyes) it needs to be an in-state, large capacity LTC. If you are not a MA resident then you need an out of state MA large capacity LCT.

What is your legal residency?

Last edited:
If you no longer live (own the property) at the address on your LTC, it is invalid regardless of expiration date. You should have notified your local PD otherwise if you "move back" and reapply it might have negative consequences

If you no longer live (own the property) at the address on your LTC, it is invalid regardless of expiration date. You should have notified your local PD otherwise if you "move back" and reapply it might have negative consequences
Agreed on the second point, but .... Please provide a law or cite that establishes that an LTC becomes "automatically invalid". I'm talking about an actual statute or court case, not "I heard" or "Someone told me".

An LTC can be revoked for failure to file a change of address, but there is no law that makes it "self-invalidating". I challenge you to prove otherwise.