• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Remington .22 Golden Boo-lits

I just picked up a new 10/22 and headed out to sight it in. I was shooting the brass plated Rem Golden Bullets. I've never used them before and I was amazed at how dirty these things burned. I went through about 150 rounds and could not believe how much residue built up on the magazine, let alone in the action. My fingertips were black by the time I was done. I did have one fail-to-eject and one fail-to-feed. This is the first .22 I've owned. Anyone have experience with this ammo? I'm wondering if most .22s burn this dirty or if it's just this type.

A lot of .22 is dirty, but that remington crap is some of the worst.

Personally, I shoot CCI Blazer, but even that seems to be going downhill these days.

I'm going to give them a try. A lot of people seem to like the CCI stuff. I'm going to go with the Stingers for small game.

Strangely, my Ruger 77/22 is a tack driver with Remington Golden Bullets and gives a much bigger spread with CCI Mini-Mags which are close to twice the price.

My 10/22 didn't like that Golden Bullet nonsense. I'm a fan of the Federal bulk. It cycles everything and is the cheapest ammo around.

I've had terrible experience with Golden Bullets. My 10/22 could fire off 500 Federal Bulk rounds flawlessly, but in the last box of Golden Bullets I'll ever buy, I probably had a FTF on 1 in 10 rounds. Completely unacceptable.

i am a big cci mini mag fan they are more money but at 7.00 for 100 they are still dirt cheep

My 10/22 didn't like that Golden Bullet nonsense. I'm a fan of the Federal bulk. It cycles everything and is the cheapest ammo around.