• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Red Dot Height Suggestion

What height red dot should I get?

• Absolute

Votes: 7 46.7%
  • 1/3

Votes: 8 53.3%

• Total voters
I'm in the market for a new red dot. I've shot before using absolute and 1/3 and trying to figure out the pros/cons. Both worked and thus why I'm in such a predicament in choosing the height.

Help me out.

I only use full co-witness (on pistol and rifle), so I can't speak to anything else. But for me I feel it's important to strive for the same point of aim regardless of which sight you are using. I'm not a pro though, that's just what works for me.

IMHO lower third is usually a concession, most people don't intentionally pick it. You end up with lower third because you're doing something like an AK gas tube mount or
whatever... where it's impossible to get it any lower.

-Mike

I use lower 1/3 on red dots, absolute cowitness seems to low for my taste.

I think I like the idea of running one of these super tall mounts on my night gun, but I really need to spend some more time with my NV gear before I start changing stuff around prematurely.

ADM Aimpoint Micro NVG Height Mount

I use lower 1/3 on red dots, absolute cowitness seems to low for my taste.

I think I like the idea of running one of these super tall mounts on my night gun, but I really need to spend some more time with my NV gear before I start changing stuff around prematurely.

ADM Aimpoint Micro NVG Height Mount

I guess I was always just biased because of having flip up BUIS on 2 guns... if you flip them down and they're out of the way, etc...

of course NV stuff changes pretty much everything.... [laugh]

-Mike

Do you have other scopes that are on the regular ADM, LaRue, etc mounts? Then your cheek weld would be more consistent with absolute co-witness. The difference between the two is only ~0.17", but it's noticeable.