• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Recommend a good clean powder for 45acp

I've been using Bullseye for 25 years and I like it, but I'm shooting a lot more practicing for IDPA and getting tired of the cleanup chore. Can anyone recommend a cleaner burning powder that shoots well in .45acp?

Thanks in advance,
Frank

You might also want to check out WST and 231.

Red Dot is more economical, but not quite as clean.

I was loading 231 before I switched to ZIP. The difference is dramatic. I would have to shoot almost three times the amount of Zip ammo to get as dirty as 231

What stores sell the Zip? The only thing I came up with in a dealer search on their site was some obscure place in Brookline, NH I've never heard of, that looks like it's in a residential neighborhood on Google Maps.

Another 231 user and a new one at that. Only a few months reloading and have used 231 exclusively for .45ACP. Starting load as listed on the Winchester reloading site with 200 gn. SWC work great in my 1911, but are not quite powerful enough for my 4516. Relatively clean too.

I don't have much experience variety wise. Titegroup performs extremely well with plated bullets. I can shoot indefinitely without cleaning. Lead bullets eventually do cause some build up in the rifling close to the chamber but that comes out with a half hour of work and a brass brush. This is with 185 grain lead bullets at 970 fps.

Another 231 user and a new one at that. Only a few months reloading and have used 231 exclusively for .45ACP. Starting load as listed on the Winchester reloading site with 200 gn. SWC work great in my 1911, but are not quite powerful enough for my 4516. Relatively clean too.

You are losing about 100 fps in the 4516's 3.75 in barrel vs the 5 in 1911. 6.0gr of WW 231 will give you about 830 fps in the 4516 with a 200 gr cast lead SWC.