• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Recommend a good chronograph?

I'm just getting into reloading rifle cartridges. I'm told I need a chronograph to verify the velocity of the cartridges I'm loading and confirm consistency.

I see plenty for sale. I don't have any basis for choosing one over another. Can anyone recommend a good chronograph that won't break the bank?

In my opinion, the CHRONY brand is the best deal. Their Beta Master model is pretty well rounded, available a lot of places, and economical for all that it does!

Details here: http://www.shootingchrony.com/introduction.htm

Models shown here:
http://www.shootingchrony.com/products_SCMMCM.htm

They even have some refurb items for sale at an even better deal.

As long as you don't shoot any chronograph, it will last a lifetime.

Beta_Master%20Chrony.jpg

If I had to buy one again I would spend a bit more to get the remote screen.

If you have a range where you go to and no one else is on the line then its ok. You can walk up to it and hit buttons whenever you want.

If you set this up on a firing line and have others shooting next to you, then it's rather difficult to hit any buttons without inconveniencing everyone else.

I have the Chrony Masta Beta

I had a shooting Chrony and even shot it, and sent it in for repair/replace it worked well for years until I left the battery in too long and the acid rotted all the electronics. I spent more on a PACT to replace it but the Chrony, pad of paper and $3 calculator worked just fine.

Fantastic ammunition can be loaded without one. I've loaded lots of ammunition for match shooting all the way out to 1000 yards without one. None of what you said really implies needing a chronograph.

B

If I had to buy one again I would spend a bit more to get the remote screen.