• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

&%##$** RCBS hand primer

scatter

NES Member
I am fairly new to reloading. Have done about 1000 rds of 9mm so far. For the last couple weeks I have started reloading my stash of .223/5.56 brass.

I am using a RCBS rock chucker and hand primer, a Lyman manual trimmer, and deburring with a RCBS hand deburring tool. Yes I know it's very tedious and slow but I'm retired and my time is free.

I think this RCBS hand primer SUCKS, at least for small rifle primers (didn't seem to have many problems with the pistol primers as I recall). The slightest tap or shake will turn several primers upside down in the tray, so I have to open it up and flip them over with my finger (usually up-ending a couple others in the process), then move all the ones near the lip so I can get the cover back on, and then up-end some more when I reinstall the cover. I've tried using masking tape to hold the cover on more tightly, and being very careful when I add primers to the tray, without much success. Am I doing something wrong or is this just a bad design that I need to buy a replacement for before I throw it through a window?

Can't comment on the RCBS gear, but the Lee unit has a small and large tray. I think this has more to do with the hole for the primer and punch diameter, but it may have had a slightly shallower tray, too. I use the ram-prime anyways.

i've been using the same 1st generation lee priming tool for over 28 years without a hitch. never even seen a rcbs unit so can't comment on it. on my lee, there's no way for primers to flip in the tray, it just can't be done. are you sure you've got the lid on properly? just asking, not trying to flame.