Quick question.

roccoracer

NES Member
I am going to the cape for a few days for a get away. We need to stop in Connecticut on our way home. If my pistol is in a safe unloaded while in CT is it legal? I am a mass resident without a CT permit.

Last edited:
If you stop and the PoPo finds your gun. You are now
in big trouble! CT has no reciprocity with MA. FOPA
only protects you while on the road. If you stop to sleep
at a roadside motel? Maybe a gray area? I wouldn’t want
to be the test case. Stopping for a coffee should be ok
but IANAL.

If you stop and the PoPo finds your gun. You are now
in big trouble! CT has no reciprocity with MA. FOPA
only protects you while on the road. If you stop to sleep
at a roadside motel? Maybe a gray area?
I wouldn’t want
to be the test case. Stopping for a coffee should be ok
but IANAL.
FOPA covers sleeping in a motel, getting gas, eating breakfast, etc. Stops that are related to your travel and supportive of that endeavor. Or, at least, I've never heard otherwise. I know a lot of people that just won't stop in an unfriendly state regardless, which isn't a bad idea.

It does not cover a two-hour visit to a museum, or catching a movie, or stopping to chat with friends that live along your route (provided it is not your final destination).

Be mindful of any preban mags. Not legal in CT unless you registered them, and FOPA does not cover mags.

FOPA reads: