• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Question on zeroing my AR15

I have a new AR15 (Bushmaster) and I took it to the range to sight it in- establish zero at 25 yds. The way I understand this is that once you set it up properly at 25 yds, your rifle with be set at 300 meters as well (battlesight I guess) and then you can use the elevation dial to hit target properly at 300, 400, 500, etc yards. I'm pretty darn sure I was using a correct sight picture/alignment but the bullets were grouping high to the right. I had to move the windage knob 10 clicks and the front sight about 10 clicks counter clockwise to get the groups centered. Is this much adjustment normal? It was NIB. The groups were about an inch so although it's not perfect they were moving the way I expected.

The other question is why do you need to use the Normal Range Aperture instead of the Short Range Aperture? It didn't seem to effect the location of the groups and the Normal Range Aperture was more difficult to use at 25 yards.

Also since I have an A3 upper I had to zero it in with the elevation knob 2 clicks higher. Why do you need to do this? Is it because the bullet will intersect the sight line at 25 yds and 350 yds?

Thanks in advance.. this is all new to me and I'm dying to understand this more.

Good thing is I shot my G27 at 30 feet after (non adjustable sights) and the thing is dead on! :) Apples and oranges.. and I like em both!

That amount of adjustment is normal. My first M16 had a BZO of 21 left. The smaller the rear sight apreture the more accurate you will be. In the Marines small was for day, larger was for night.

Any amount of clicks is pretty normal to get your zero. What affects that the most is your sight picture. It all depends on where your cheek hits the stock.