Question on water well, aquifers, etc.

Prepper

NES Member
I'm buying a new house in NH, and the house has a well that is 250 feet deep.

My current well experience involves a cabin in Maine where water is reached after only 8 feet. So, I'm wondering about this 250 feet depth... is this called an artesian well? Does it tap limited fossil water, or is this something that replenishes over time like water near the surface does? I am pondering the long term sustainability of such a well given that the fossil water out in farm land is going to be depleted over time due to unsustainable agricultural practices. Does anyone have any thoughts on this?

If the submerged pump ever failed, I assume I'm out of luck for getting water out of that until it is replaced? I can't imagine lowering one of those narrow well buckets that far down.

First I'm not a well expert, and it's a deep subject.

If the water flows out of the well under its own pressure, it an artesian well. So this one is not.

It's likely that it's a replenishable aquifer, but if you're worried, ask around town. The old timers shoudl know. Or the State or USGS should be able to tall you.

The fossil water that you refer to is being depleted due to the high level of consumption; your location, not being a farm, is not likely to use that much.

If the pump breaks, you're SOL until it's replaced. You're also depnedant upon power- make sure you have a gererator with enough capacity to run the pump.

a bucket woudl be a PITA.

Go get the name of the maintenance company on the well pump/tank. There should be a maintenance card or some other type of placard identifying them. Once you know who it is, give them a call and have them tell you everything they know about it, and ask your questions.