Question on possession of certain rifles in MA

It seems by definition an SKS in standard configuration (10 round fixed mag) is good to go in MA.

But a regular old 10/22 isn't because it's capable of accepting a 'large' capacity magazine?

The situation is I'm a resident of PA and I'm going to be in MA for a couple of weeks and want to bring some sort firearm along for no specific purpose. I'm between:

1) Mossberg 500
2) SKS
3) 10/22 take down
4) Ruger PC carbine

The latter two would be the most convenient because of the takedown mechanism, but I'm uncertain of their status due to the ability to take numerous configurations of magazines.

Also perhaps I'm beating a dead horse, but the fact remains the statutes are very confusing. If you don't want to reply with anything of substance except to point out the beating of said horse, please don't.

Thanks!

If you don't have a license in MA (MA LTC or FID) you're likely riding dirty, in other words, if you care this much about the lawrs, you probably shouldn't be bringing anything. Not even ammunition. There are limited competition and hunting exemptions under MGL, but there's a sort of debate as to whether or not those exemptions are even legally valid. Nobody I know has ever had any trouble running under an exemption, but these same guys also don't go "HEY OFFICER LOOK AT THE GUNS I HAVE IN MY TRUNK WITH NO LTC!" etc when pulled over for some
stupid traffic infraction, etc. I am going to hazard a guess that 99.9% of the time this exemption never gets tested because most people in this situation keep their stuff tucked away in their vehicle while under transport (hidden and FOPA compliant at least, relevance of FOPA set aside regardless) and pretty much operate by what I call "big kid rules. "

-Mike

Bringing A firearm,rifle,or shotgun with out the proper papers will get you a free stay in the gulag comrade.