• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Question on New Hampshire ATV trails.

roccoracer

NES Member
I had the idea of taking my son on an overnight trail ride. I am a non resident and have bever been on the trails before.
Do you have an advice or warnings about an overnight trip? I would be using my Ranger 900xp with a full cab, is this too big for the trails. The width is 60 inches.
Is there still the dumb law that I cannot have a pistol on me without the permit. I did not renew after constitutional carry passed and certainly do not want to be unarmed.
What is the cost for the registration and do I need insurance?
Thank you

You'll be legal at certain trails, some not. Up north is where you'll need to go. No insurance necessary. Technically, you can't carry concealed on an ATV without a state permit (it's a hunting regulation from fish and game laws), but concealed is concealed. It's not like youre gonna be checked.

You'll be legal at certain trails, some not. Up north is where you'll need to go. No insurance necessary. Technically, you can't carry concealed on an ATV without a state permit (it's a hunting regulation from fish and game laws), but concealed is concealed. It's not like youre gonna be checked.
Can I just open carry?

I have not checked since the new year but as far as I know...

You need a pistol/revolver license to carry while riding and ATV or snowmobile. They are trying to repeal this but I don’t think it has happened yet.

A lot of trails throughout the state have steel gates so only certain sized vehicles will fit through. I don’t know what the measurement is. (My boss has a house in the white mountains and he bought a Polaris RZR for that reason, not sure what size).

Jericho Park does not have gates and is open to ride.