Question for NES roofers

daveyburt

NES Member
Rating - 100%
14   0   0
I had a roof re-shingled with asphalt. The installer didn't leave any overhang on the starter row. Water gets behind the gutters.

Backstory; The contractor was hired by by my now deceased grandmother but, the house has been in my name for over a decade (life estate).
The guy came highly recommended.

I contacted the roofer who came to look and said "well, that's not my gutter system so, not my problem".
I tried to be nice.
:)
As the gutters were there, you'd think he perform the installation of shingles to properly drain into the gutters.
I'm not a pro roofer but, on the work I've done, I always double up and overhang the starter row. He claims 'we don't do that anymore'.

So, question:
Is what he says true?
Is there any part of building code, or manufacturers installation instructions which state minimum overhang of the starter row?
I've searched for a while but can't find the proper docs.

Turns out the roofer has MANY customer issues. ...and the dude showed up reeking of weed.

As he screwed up the starter row, I believe the entire roof needs redone.

Did he mis-install?

thx!

Uzi2

NES Member
Rating - 100%
4   0   0
The roofer is a fvcking moron.......you ALWAYS overhang the gutters.....always always always. It makes absolutely no sense to do anything else, and anything else is defective installation workmanship.

It might not look right but you could lift the second course and nail in a drip edge.

Last edited:

grey

NES Member
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
unnamed.jpg
Gutter flashing. Technically not the roofers fault. You dont need to redo the roof. Theres a couple types of this flashing and most gutter supply companies carry it in different colors

Trying to remember here but i think 3/8" is the specified overhang. A little more never hurts

Spanz

NES Member
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
View attachment 359496