• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Question about building an AR

I have zero knowledge of how to build an AR. Aside from purchasing the upper and lower, barrel, grips, and the shoulder thinggy that goes up, exactly what is required to complete the project? Is there a complete parts kit that includes springs, pins, trigger etc? Is there a guide out there on the Interwebs that is like "AR's for Dummies"?

Yes, there are parts kits for the lowers. Has everything you need.
YouTube is always a good source.
Wear safety glasses please. I don't want to see a post from you saying you have a detent pin stuck in your eye......

+1 on the safety glasses. If it's your first time inevitably you're going to miss a spring and detent and something will go flying.. You'll need some basic AR tools too. They are not too expensive and are necessary to do the job right.

At an absolute minimum:

an AR multi-wrench thingy like this
a set of punches

I would also recommend a vise and an AR vise block(s) of some type for both the lower and upper. Some roll pin starter punches will make life easier too.

That and some attention to detail is about all you'll need.

Last edited:
+1 on the safety glasses. If it's your first time inevitably you're going to miss a spring and detent and something will go flying.. You'll need some basic AR tools too. They are not too expensive and are necessary to do the job right.

Get a magnet for those detents or offer $10 to what ever kid finds it (I have a $10 detent). I had my laptop open next to me during my first build.

.......and don't be intimidated. If you have an attention to detail and are mechanically inclined you will not find this at all difficult in any way.