Purchasing out of state non-compliant AR upper.

I am looking to purchase (from out of state) a non-compliant complete upper for an AR. By non compliant I mean it has a threaded flash suppressor, bayonet lug and 28 rd mag. (this is a Chiappa 22 M4 conversion, but want to expand the conversation to any caliber or set up)

my intention is to make it compliant prior to mating it with my lower.

my question is: is it legal in MA to import and/or own non compliant components even if they are not part of firearm, I.e. Mated to a lower? (Semi-auto only, not full-auto)

Excersize your rights, often.
MAdness

I'm not a lawyer, and I live in CT not MA, so take this with the proverbial grain of salt please.

The only part of an AR that's defined as a firearm is the lower, (note the serial number on all produced - 80%'s are paper-weights). Here in CT, when we had to register our "assault weapons", being compliant meant that my box-stock S&W MP-15 had to be registered, my poly lower with a dedicated .22 upper had to be registered, and my stripped poly lower had to be registered. By law, they're all considered firearms, and had to go through FFL at purchase/transfer time.

Once my dedicated .22 upper was mounted to the poly lower, the assembled firearm as a unit had to meet criteria, (no bayonet lug, no removable suppressor, etc) -- but until that upper was assembled onto the lower, the upper was just "parts". The upper was shipped directly to me from the manufacturer, and before I bolted it to the lower, I had to make it CT legal with some grinding/welding, etc. The lower is the firearm, even when it's stripped.

I am looking to purchase (from out of state) a non-compliant complete upper for an AR. By non compliant I mean it has a threaded flash suppressor, bayonet lug and 28 rd mag. (this is a Chiappa 22 M4 conversion, but want to expand the conversation to any caliber or set up)