• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Prospective Gun Store Employee

Hey all,

I was offered an interview at a store that sells firearms in CT. I'm currently at school down here and have my MA FID (turn 21 in March) and will apply for my CT long gun certificate/ammo certificate if hired.

I know that if hired, I have to take a test written by the state to qualify to sell firearms. Has anyone taken the test? What does it cover? Is there going to be a problem since I'm a non-resident? I made it very clear on the application that I'm only here for school and actually live in MA. I have a pretty good understanding of CT law, but I'm still learning.

Hope this all works out. I really want this job!

This!
If you don't know the answer tell the customer you need to get someone who can answer the question for them.
This x2! That's what I plan on doing. I see way too many people with bad info on here and in LGS and I don't want to contribute to it.
According to the BATFE you are a DUAL Resident. Google ATF Ruling 80-21 and enjoy!

Thanks! I knew I was technically a dual resident per ATF standards, but I don't think I fit the criteria for CT/MA dual residency in CT's eyes.

According to the BATFE you are a DUAL Resident. Google ATF Ruling 80-21 and enjoy!

could you point to the word DUAL in that ruling? I don't see it anywhere.

DUAL would imply you are a resident of TWO states at the same time but the ruling specifically states the opposite--you are a resident of ONE state or the other but not both.

The regulation states that during the time the individual actually resides in State X he is a resident of State X, and during the time he actually resides in State Y he is a resident of State Y.

https://www.atf.gov/file/55301/download

Is he also from a predominantly black neighborhood? If so, then a nearly all white jury isn't exactly a juror if his peers, is it?