• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Private Sale MA to NH

Just curiosity question. I am a NH resident. I have seen a shotgun on a site for sale in MA.
Can I legally purchase this shotgun in MA through a private sale. Or do I have to go through an FFL.

Yes FFL AND:

The Mass resident could leaglly go to NH FFL and transfer the gun to NH FFL with only govt ID for transfer to you

Just curiosity question. I am a NH resident. I have seen a shotgun on a site for sale in MA.
Can I legally purchase this shotgun in MA through a private sale. Or do I have to go through an FFL.
It's a long gun being purchased private sale between states so an ffl needs to be involved per federal law. Use a nh FFL because if you use a mass ffl you'd be taking posession of it in a state you are not legal to posess it in.

Still amazes me how many people don't know that it's a federal law that a private sale of a long gun between states needs to be done through an ffl. Not adhering to this law is felony.

Long guns need an ffl involved but can be transferred to the buyer in a different state provided that the buyer is legal to posess the fire arm in the state of purchase and the state of residence. A nh buyer would not be in compliance to take possession in mass due to mass licensing law.

For handguns the fire arm must always be transferred at an ffl in the buyers state of residence.

Last edited:
True, but I think many would think of it as a 'private' sale since the 03 isn't a dealer and there's no 4473 involved.

the exception would be if the firearm is C&R eligible and you hold an 03FFL
That would not be a private sale.

An 03ffl is in fact an ffl for c and r eligible fire arms. So it's not an exception.......it is an ffl transaction.
True, but I think many would think of it as a 'private' sale since the 03 isn't a dealer and there's no 4473 involved.