• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Preparing for Fall hunting season. Couple questions...

Hi all,

So last year was my first year hunting, and was pretty much a bust, because I had no previous experience, and only got to go out one day. Now given that I'm prepared this year, to use a week's PTO to be in the field as much as humanly possible! I do have a few questions however, hoping you guys can help out.

Some Background information on me... I'm a MA resident, but my father owns a house in NH that I frequently stay at. I don't have an FID card or a LTC (haven't applied yet in MA), but I keep my rifle at my father's house in NH, and I only ever carry the firearm in NH. I'm wondering, The open carry laws in NH haven't changed correct? I'm still allowed to carry my rifle unloaded, in my truck without a NH concealed carry permit or a MA LTC, correct? With that out of the way I have the following questions...

1.) If I've never been convicted of a felony, and only have a minor misdemeanor disorderly conduct on my record, how tough is it in MA to get an LTC? I've never used drugs so obviously none of that nonsense on my record, and my father always taught me that hitting a woman is what cowards do, so none of that on my record as well. Should it be pretty easy to obtain a MA-LTC?

2.) I took and passed the NH hunters safety course last year, and purchased my non resident hunting license for NH, this year, I don't need to take the hunters ed course again, correct? I was under the assumption I can just go ahead and purchase my non resident hunters license again, when it's time.

3.) Too late to enter the moose lottery? How do I go about that?