Preferred replacement AR15 barrel

Rockrivr1

NES Member
I have an AR15 that the barrel has finally reached the end of it's life. The rifling and grooves are pretty much gone and its time to replace the barrel. I'm looking forward to doing this myself as I've never done it before and figure it would be a fun project to take on.

So with that said I'm collecting the items I'll need to do the work. My question though is what replacement barrel would you recommend? I'm looking online and there are dozens of them to choose from with prices all over the spectrum. If this was your project, what brand of barrel would you purchase?

Thanks

I’m watching this thread - I’m trying to build as authentic an upper as possible for a HBAR lower I purchased recently and am struggling with this very question.

Take a ride to Green Mountain Rifle Barrell in Conway NH. Nice stuff at great prices.

My brother used one of their 18in SS barrels in a build and is very happy with it. We were getting consistent sub-MOA with 69gr SMK reloads.

I have one Wilson Combat 18in SS also have quite a few Ballistic Advantage barrels in 5.56 and .300blk. Also have two BCM HF chrome lined. Just picked up a Faxon SPR profile with flutes but I have not shot it yet. It has the 5R rifling and wylde chamber.

My brother used one of their 18in SS barrels in a build and is very happy with it. We were getting consistent sub-MOA with 69gr SMK reloads.

I have one Wilson Combat 18in SS also have quite a few Ballistic Advantage barrels in 5.56 and .300blk. Also have two BCM HF chrome lined. Just picked up a Faxon SPR profile with flutes but I have not shot it yet. It has the 5R rifling and wylde chamber.

Is there any one that stands out above the others? I'm on the fence but may go with an 11.5 barrel and SBR it. If not I'd go 14.5 carbine length.