• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Personal Transfer Question

Here is the scenario:

I am a NH resident and my shooting buddy in MA really likes my Sig Mosquito. How can I legally transfer it to him? He has a Class A LTC, so I know it is legal for him to own firearms.

A dealer won't touch it, but why can't I sell it and have him register it on an FA10? The firearm would be on the official state books and it is no different than if my buddy moved from NH to MA and brought the gun with him.

Under this scenario, would my friend be breaking any laws? Please provide a link or reference to the law. Thx

DR is correct. Non FFL's in different states can NOT sell/purchase from another. I believe that federal law was enacted in 1968. If you can't transfer it through an FFL, then he can't get it.

Handguns via different state residents can only be transferred via a FFL in the state of the recipient.

Long Guns can be transferred in the any State FFL.

Civilian to Civilian transfers are ONLY allowed between residents of the same state.

Since the Sig in question is not available via a MA FFL, there is no way short of moving that can make the transfer legal.

Bad news

So the only way I could do a personal transfer is to become a resident of the state of MA....hmmm. That's why I couldn't find an issue when reviewing the MGLs.

Moving to MA is not gonna happen - it took me years to get out of MA to NH. Buddy is out of luck.

Thanks for the info.

Right and he's "very out of luck" as it is my understanding that Sig has decided NOT to get the Mosquito MA certified!

That was a gun that I was also interested in for my Wife! Sigh!

Perhaps if MA folks put pressure on Sig, they may change their mind . . . assuming there aren't some design issues where it would fail the testing. If it passes CA requirements, it would most likely meet MA requirements too.

Transfer