• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Part time NH resident looking for a resident PP.

dcmdon

NES Member
Hi all,

I currently own a weekend place in NH. I spend roughly 60 days per year there. Per the ATF, I am a resident of NH when I am there and can lawfully purchase firearms as a NH resident.

I recently approached my local PD about a resident PP. I was told that they gave resident license to only full time residents. I asked them why? They said that's how they have always done it.
But that if I could find something in NH laws that defines what a resident is, they would issue it.

So my question is this.

Can anyone provide a link to any NH law or reg that defines what a resident is.

I'm not looking for conjecture or stories. Just a link to the law. Or a statement that it doesn't exist.

Thanks,

Don

What is your reason for wanting a resident pistol and revolver license? Can that need be met by a non-resident P&R?
I recently approached my local PD about a resident PP. I was told that they gave resident license to only full time residents. I asked them why? They said that's how they have always done it. But that if I could find something in NH laws that defines what a resident is, they would issue it.
SO the phrase in the RSA is "...any resident of such town...", and while not defined in RSA 159, the debate over resident status due to recent disputes over voting has only muddied the waters. See for example RSA 654:2, II(b)

To the OP, how does the PD know you only spend 60 days per year there? Do you own the place? Pay taxes? Have a NH drivers license?

From what I recall my last application process went like this:

Drop off application at PD
PD requests copy of DL
Tell them to pound sand
License is issued within 10 days

You also do not need a P&R license to purchase in NH. So I’m not sure what you are looking to accomplish.