Painting Mass. license plate ?

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Noticed today that one of my license plates is badly weathered, I google searched and couldn't find anything on wether I'm responsible for maintaining the plates or not. Am I "authorized" to repaint them ?

TC McQuade

NES Member
Rating - 100%
24   0   0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
My understanding is that you are not allowed to paint plates, even if it makes them more legible. Instead, they want you to pay for a replacement plate.

FWIW, I used to be a state inspector.

new guy

NES Member
Rating - 100%
58   0   0
But they won't reissue you a green one, right? Those are the ones that I usually see painted (in my parents' driveway).

LoginName

NES Member
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
Noticed today that one of my license plates is badly weathered, I google searched and couldn't find anything on wether I'm responsible for maintaining the plates or not. Am I "authorized" to repaint them ?
You can try and repaint it, but under the new overly anal inspection system, it's questionable if it will pass.

FWIW... I know one person that failed for having a faded plate (actually, he was told that it wouldn't pass before the inspector
pulled it into the bay, and this was at a station where he had been going to for years without a problem).

Rating - 100%
20   0   0
This, but don't worry because it's about finding the bad guys not generating monies. [rolleyes]
Correction: It's about MAKING bad guys....

Coming soon to a communist state near you: Mailed to your door traffic tickets because your elapsed time between tolls exceeded the possible time frame within the speed limit. No you may not contest, pay the state or get locked in a cage.

Parker Duofold

NES Member
Rating - 100%
31   0   0
From an old thread: