• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

PA Firearms to MA

I have my Massachusetts LTC-A. Question...I still own a couple rifles at my parents home in PA when I was a resident there. The rifles are a Remington 22 cal pump rifle and a Ithaca 20 guage shotgun. I would like to bring them to Massachusetts permanently on my next visit. When I get them to Massachusetts do I need to register them in any way? Thanks.

Yes, as you did not bring them with you to Mass when you moved here you will need to register (eFA-10) if you bring them here now.

However, other than this post if you owned them prior to moving to Mass, there really isn't any way of proving you didn't have them when you moved to Mass.

YMMV - IANAL

Yes, as you did not bring them with you to Mass when you moved here you will need to register (eFA-10) if you bring them here now.

However, other than this post if you owned them prior to moving to Mass, there really isn't any way of proving you didn't have them when you moved to Mass.

YMMV - IANAL

nailed it.

...7 days to register...if so inclined. Do you have any paperwork with date of purchase to establish you owned them prior to MA?

Last edited:
I have no paperwork. I purchased them in PA over 35 years ago. So if I brought them to MA when I moved here 26 years ago, then I would not have to register them today?

YMMV - IANAL

No matter what, "you brought them back last weekend" and leave it at that. Built an AR from a blank lower? You did that last weekend....

EFA10 means "Extremely F(udge)ing Asinine x10"