• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Ordering build kit...

I'm new to all this so please forgive me if this has been addressed- I couldn't find an answer. I'm in the process of applying for the MA LTC and am interested in getting a rifle kit to build. Now I noticed some companies won't ship to Mass- some will. Is it legal to order a rifle kit as long as you don't build it before you get the LTC? From what I gather, it's just a parts kit until it's assembled correct? Please advise.

Thanks in advance.

Was thinking of the kits that come with an 80% lower. They are advertised as no license or registration needed to buy- same as ordering a ball joint or Bluetooth speaker. From what I understand, that 80% lower is not a firearm until it's routed out to accept the other parts of the gun.. looks like a cool project to try to build one with a fixed mag or whatever else would make it mass legal- which I would attempt after I am issued an LTC. I'd like to order one just to have- as you never know- could wake up tomorrow and all the kits are banned... Just want to know if I'm understanding things correctly.
Thanks

According to Federal law there is nothing illegal about owning gun parts.

MA law requires you to be licensed to own a "firearm". In order for something to be considered a "firearm" it has to be capable of firing. A rifle "kit" which does not include a serialized, Federally controlled "lower receiver" cannot be considered a "firearm".

You could decide to make it into a firearm--the same way that I could decide to make a piece of threaded pipe and a cap and a nail into a shotgun or a zip gun.

What YOU decide to do with that kit--when, and where--determines when and/or if you have committed a criminal act and/or/if you have broken a law which is punishable by the State.

MA has decreed controls over firearms, ammunition, and ammunition feeding devices.