opinions on a .308 gas piston AR

Are you dead set on an AR? I have an FN FAL SA58 carbine from DSArms and it's great.
http://www.dsarms.com/products.asp?dept=8

Have you considered the bullpup Kel-Tec RFB?
http://gunblast.com/KelTec-RFB.htm

I did already get the receiver but i wish i saw that kel-tec earlier. Only reason why i decided on an AR platform is because of the lower recoil and availability of aftermarket upgrades. I've never shot a FAL so i have no experience with them but on that site, the price of those is around what it would cost me to build a very nice long distance AR anyway...but that kel-tec being as short as it is with the same barrel length is pretty awesome. It's also probably $400 cheaper then the AR. Have you ever shot one?

I did already get the receiver but i wish i saw that kel-tec earlier. Only reason why i decided on an AR platform is because of the lower recoil and availability of aftermarket upgrades. I've never shot a FAL so i have no experience with them but on that site, the price of those is around what it would cost me to build a very nice long distance AR anyway...but that kel-tec being as short as it is with the same barrel length is pretty awesome. It's also probably $400 cheaper then the AR. Have you ever shot one?

I have not shot the Kel-Tec. BTW, I like the way it ejects the brass.

Prices have gone up a lot on the FALs (I paid 1400 for mine a few years ago). One advantage is that preban 20 or 30 round mags are readily available and not too expensive.

I have not shot the Kel-Tec. BTW, I like the way it ejects the brass.

Prices have gone up a lot on the FALs (I paid 1400 for mine a few years ago). One advantage is that preban 20 or 30 round mags are readily available and not too expensive.

there's preban 30's for the FAL's? Shit i did not know that. Any idea if there's preban 20 rounders for the AR .308's?

Nice! You'll have fun building it for sure.
I just ordered the LaRue .308AR 14 week wait!