• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Opinion on 2 Lee Presses

deerdad

NES Member
I have a LEE single stage I've been using for a while to load 9, 45, and 30-06. I'm thinking about going with the Lee Classic Turret or the 4000 where I don't have to batch load any longer. It takes me forever just to load a couple hundred in order to feed my daughters and my handgun for a short range trip. Can anyone who has used those two presses give me opinions on them. I'm definitely not looking to spend 5 or 600 dollars for a press that doesn't get used that much. These would mostly be for pistol cartridges up to 44 magnum. I would still use the single stage fo 30-06.

I have a loadmaster and the new Pro 6000
Biggest issue with the loadmaster is the priming on the upstroke. Now I run the cases through the loadmaster to prime then again to load so no stopping for priming issues

The turret and 4000 are manual primer feeds so they just work as long as you do your part.

I have the Lee Classic Turret. I added the case ejector setup from Inline Fabrication ($~40), the Lee Safety Prime (~$30) and I'm able to get between 250-300 rds/hr. (prior to those additions I think I was only getting 150 rds. max). The limiting factors are primers and powder. I also use this press for rifle up to 30-06. I have a Lee single stage that I use for small batch loads,

Same with the LnL and I hate it, I pre-prime all my brass ahead of time nowadays on a single stage. Nice shitty weather day kinda thing to to.
The loadmaster does a good job on priming if it's the only thing it's doing.
Problem is when there is an issue with priming a case it's a pain to deal with while loading.
Doing it in two steps, I can drop powder at station 2, then powder check, seat and crimp all separately.