One dead, two wounded in Tennessee school shooting

Well Ross,

Here is another school shooting, which will no doubt produce more invectives against us "evil gun owners" and how it is so important to protect the children and all of that. Now it is tragic for all, for the victim and the perp (although one hopes that he gets what he deserves from the criminal justice system).

If you will indulge me for just a moment while I take a walk down Memory Lane, but back in Yuma, Arizona at Kofa High School (from whence I graduated back in 1966 )in the early and middle 1960's it was not uncommon for the lads to take their guns to school and leave them in their vehicles, you see it was not uncommon for them to go hunting after school. The same could be said for some of the teachers, too. Ahh...a different time and place.

Regards,

Mark

mark056 said:
Here is another school shooting, which will no doubt produce more invectives against us "evil gun owners" and how it is so important to protect the children and all of that.

That was my point, basically. A kid who's already decided to kill is not going to be stopped because of a law saying you can't have a gun in school; he's already decided to break the law about not killing people. Something that the GFW's manage to overlook.

I know my post sounded a bit flip, but I just get so tired about the inevitable comparisons to Columbine. And from having been just a bit picked on in grammar school and jr high, I can understand the temptations to kill a few people. But... where the F*** were the teachers? Didn't they see these kids are going to snap? Don't they get to know their kids?

All my grammar school teachers KNEW me. Heck, I even knew where some of them lived! In junior high, my best friend and I went CAMPING with our science teacher! (wish I knew where Mr MacCubbin was now... I'd love to write him). I liked to hang out with him after school.