Observations of a noob reloader

mac1911

NES Member
I am new to metalic reloading and have made a few observations[thinking]

1. If you do not have readily available tap and dies nuts and bolts ORDER a stuck case removeing kit with your loader/dies----I have plenty of taps and dies thank god.
@ random I have been getting .223/5.56 cases stuck PITA

2. DO NOT clean your dies with break clean then go get a drink, answer the phone, talk milsurp rifles with your buddy for eva then go back to them several hours later......my new pistol dies have a nice petina now. THANK the reloading gods it only was on the outside.

3. dont forget to order shell holders if your die set does not come with them[angry]
OK so I did this a few times!!!! finally got a "set" that should cover all I will be doing

1) I have never ever had to use anything like a tap and die set to get anything working again with reloading. I have Lee dies and Dillon dies. Oh, the few RCBS dies get used when I have to. BUT, I never get anything stuck in them. The couple of times I have had a student get a piece of brass stuck were BOTH in Lee dies. For those, you loosen the collet holding the knock out pin, and remove the collet. You then whack the top of the knock out pin with a ball peen hammer, and the brass comes right out of the die! Replace the collet, and set the pin, and tighten the collet. You're back in biz!

2) Die sets only need a light coating of oil to keep them from rusting. Blow dust out with compressed air, and occasionally clean the insides with a swab with some 100% isopropal alcohol (gas line antifreeze) to remove residue.

3) NEW sets of dies come with shell holders. Buy ONLY new die sets.

Three reasons to only buy new: First, you will get shell holders. Second, you never know how scratched the insides of a used set would be. Third, the used sets sell for as much as a new set anyways. For a couple of bucks, why not get NEW, and not worry about these reasons?