• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

NRA Instructor's question

I am a Basic Pistol instructor and I am being asked to generate and lead a curriculum for my club. The template that was suggested was the "FIRST Steps Pistol" course. This is something new to me and I can't find a good description of what it is online (even on the NRA Instructor's Portal). I am pretty sure that the idea is to provide a good initial education on safe gun (pistol?) handling in a reasonable time (3-4 hours).

My questions are:
- How does one go about getting an instructor's rating for FIRST Steps Pistol?
- Can the course be completed successfully (in the NRA's eyes) with a non-.22 pistol? Basic Pistol is fairly adamant that the course should be taught with a .22, and for the most part, I agree. My club got a grant to buy some club guns to teach this course and is looking for some clarity on what they need.

Anyway, I know that I could just call Jon over at GOAL or somebody I know less as GONH, but I wondered if you guys had any idea/

Hi Andrew,
When you were certified in NRA Basic Pistol you were also certified for the NRA First Steps Pistol Orientation. The lesson plans should be in the same binder as your Basic Pistol lesson plans.

From my perspective, as an NRA Instructor, any class that doesn't provide hands-on instruction with live firing exercises isn't worth crap. I refuse to teach anything other than the NRA Basic Pistol Shooting Course. I know it is long, but I find students who take the other courses don't feel prepared to enter the world of handgun ownership.

I know you're in NH. I'm in MA. As long as MA is going to require training for an LTC application they should at least require useful training.

My two cents.