• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

NRA Instructor Course - Home Firearm Safety and Basic Pistol July 14 - 16, 2006

w.gif

/goes off to cry himself to sleep.

Last edited:
Cross-X, you were there weren't you?
The "W" is a badge of shame. If you say "weapon" during the course you get fined a dollar and have to wear a blaze orange "W" carved out of wood.

Welcome to NES, adweisbe. I take it you were the first one to earn that honor?

I earned it twice in one evening. I am going to stop at the bank for some spare singles before I go tomorrow.

Jon Green is a stickler about that. As an NRA Instructor myself I've got caught using it a few times as well. I personally have no shame in calling a firearm/pistol a weapon. I use my pistols for many things... I'd be kidding myself if I thought they aren't weapons. But heck... I seem to be rubbing people the wrong ways on occasion.. why stop now. [smile]

weapon
n 1: any instrument or instrumentality used in fighting or hunting; "he was licensed to carry a weapon"

Last edited:
It's hard to break a lot of people from using the W word during a class. The last group I did managed not to have much trouble with it. I actually look forward to somebody using it during a regular class (never the instructor!) for a teachable moment. It gives me an easy means of pointing out that damn near anything could be used as a weapon, but that in this class (NFS, Basic Pistol, etc.) we're looking at guns first and foremost as great ways to have a heck of a lot of fun.

Ken

adweisbe said:
Cross-X, you were there weren't you?
The "W" is a badge of shame. If you say "weapon" during the course you get fined a dollar and have to wear a blaze orange "W" carved out of wood.

You threw me off because I've never worn such a glorious necklace, and have no reason to celebrate, or use, that word. (smile)

KMaurer said: