• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

non-resident resident

ok so i'm a MA resident and home-owner but am about to buy a vacation home in FL. Am I only eligible for a FL non-resident or can i apply for a resident LTC when i technically own a residence in FL and MA? can one posses two resident LTC's?

ok so i'm a MA resident and home-owner but am about to buy a vacation home in FL. Am I only eligible for a FL non-resident or can i apply for a resident LTC when i technically own a residence in FL and MA? can one posses two resident LTC's?

Florida doesn't distinguish between a resident LTC and a non-resident LTC. If you want to use your Florida address on your Florida LTC then you will need to get a Florida-only drivers license. This is a drivers license that is only valid when driving in Florida and doesn't require you to give up your Mass. drivers license. If you don't want to go this route you can just use your Mass. address on your LTC application.

In order to be considered a resident you have to reside in a state for "more" than 6 months. So it is impossible to reside in more than one place.

According to the ATF, if you own two residences in different states, then you are considered a resident of state X while in state X, and a resident of state Y while in state Y. I believe MA doesn't follow this rule. However.

Not correct, dhuze. Federal law requires simply that you reside in said state rather than just visit it, however. Vacation home doesn't really do it.

In order to be considered a resident you have to reside in a state for "more" than 6 months. So it is impossible to reside in more than one place.

Residency is a very complicated legal subject, and requirements for residency differ depending upon who is asking. ATF, IRS, USCIS, and various different states all seem to define residency differently.